Skip to content

Omicron Variant Results in New COVID Travel Restrictions and Testing Requirements

December 2, 2021

The U.S. announced new travel restrictions this week preventing all travelers from entering the U.S. who were physically present within 14 days in South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi, except U.S. citizens and permanent residents. The restriction may expand to other countries as the Omicron variant spreads. It remains unclear whether National Interest Exceptions to previous travel restrictions will remain valid for 12 months as previously announced because Customs and Border Protection stated that any exceptions issued prior to the travel restriction are not valid. 

International travelers entering the U.S. must be vaccinated (with limited exceptions) and must secure a negative COVID test within one day of departure for the U.S.

Please contact your Varnum immigration attorney for more information or if you have any questions about the new restrictions.

Sign up to be the first to access our leading legal insights.

The link you have selected will redirect you to a third-party website located on another server. We are offering the link for your convenience. Varnum has no responsibility for any external websites and makes no express or implied warranties about any external websites.

Please be aware that contacting us via e-mail does not create an attorney-client relationship between you and the firm. Do not send confidential information to the firm until you have spoken with one of our attorneys and receive authorization to send such materials.