Reminder: Minimum Wage in Michigan Increasing in January
On January 1, 2017, the minimum wage rate in Michigan will increase from $8.50 per hour to $8.90 per hour. This increase marks the third out of four scheduled increases which began in 2014. To recap, the specific dates for each increase were:
|September 1, 2014:||$8.15 per hour|
|January 1, 2016:||$8.50 per hour|
|January 1, 2017:||$8.90 per hour|
|January 1, 2018:||$9.25 per hour|
|January 1, 2019 |
(and each January thereafter):
|Rate to rise with inflation rate for Midwestern states, but not |
more than 3.5% per year, and no increase if the rate of
unemployment meets or exceeds 8.5% in the prior year
Michigan's scheduled rise in the hourly minimum wage rate affects tipped employees as well. Beginning on January 1, 2017, the minimum wage rate for tipped employees will increase from $3.23 per hour to $3.38 per hour. This leaves only one scheduled increase remaining, which occurs on January 1, 2018, when the minimum wage rate for tipped employees rises to $3.52 per hour.
Michigan employers must be aware that a tipped employee's hourly minimum wage rate plus tips must meet or exceed the state minimum wage rate of $8.90 per hour in January 2017 and $9.25 per hour in January 2018. If a tipped employee's hourly wage rate plus tips does not meet or exceed the required state minimum wage rate for each year respectively, the employer is required to make up any shortfall.
For questions regarding the scheduled increases in Michigan's hourly minimum wage rate, contact any member of Varnum's Labor & Employment Practice Team.
You May Also Be Interested In
- Update: DOL Issues Final Rule Regarding Changes to Salary Threshold for Exempt White-Collar EmployeesLabor and Employment Advisory, September 26, 2019
- Labor and Employment Advisory, September 13, 2019
- Are Michigan’s New Paid Medical Leave Act and Minimum Wage Law Constitutional? The Michigan Supreme Court Hears ArgumentsLabor and Employment Advisory, July 24, 2019