Main Menu

61 Varnum Attorneys Listed in Best Lawyers® 2014

August 15, 2013

A total of 61 Varnum attorneys were recently selected by their peers for inclusion in the 2014 edition of The Best Lawyers in America®. Attorneys from each of Varnum's five offices across Michigan were selected to the list.

Several Varnum attorneys in the 2014 publication have been listed in Best Lawyers® for more than 20 years. They include Lawrence P. Burns, Timothy J. Curtin, Nyal Deems, Dirk Hoffius, Marilyn Lankfer, Daniel C. Molhoek, and Fred Sytsma. Curtin has the distinction of being listed in every edition of Best Lawyers® since it began publication in 1983.

The complete list of Varnum attorneys included on the Best Lawyers in America 2014 are:

Grand Haven

  • Jeffrey Beswick (Trusts & Estates)

Grand Rapids

  • Stephen P. Afendoulis (Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Real Estate)
  • Scott Alfree (Corporate Law, Health Care Law)
  • Mark S. Allard (Commercial Litigation, Litigation – ERISA)
  • Jonathan W. Anderson (Real Estate Law)
  • Lawrence P. Burns (Health Care Law)
  • Jon M. Bylsma (Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Banking & Finance, Litigation – Mergers & Acquisitions, Litigation – Securities)
  • Christopher Caldwell (Trusts & Estates)
  • Timothy J. Curtin (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law)
  • Nyal D. Deems (Real Estate Law)
  • Jeffrey A. DeVree (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law, Litigation & Controversy – Tax, Tax Law)
  • Ronald G. DeWaard (Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Banking & Finance)
  • Timothy Eagle (Trademark Law)
  • Matthew Eugster (Environmental Law)
  • Bruce Goodman (Environmental Law)
  • Dirk C. Hoffius (Trusts & Estates)
  • Scott A. Huizenga (Corporate Law)
  • Kaplin Jones (Tax Law)
  • David E. Khorey (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management)
  • Harvey Koning (Financial Services Regulation Law)
  • Randall W. Kraker (Land Use & Zoning Law, Litigation – Land Use & Zoning, Litigation – Municipal, Litigation – Real Estate, Municipal Law, Real Estate Law)
  • Thomas G. Kyros (Litigation – Trusts & Estates, Trusts and Estates)
  • Richard C. Lague (Corporate Law, Health Care Law)
  • Marilyn A. Lankfer (Trusts & Estates)
  • Joseph B. Levan (Corporate Law)
  • Timothy J. Lundgren (Water Law)
  • Michael S. McElwee (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Litigation – Bankruptcy)
  • Daniel C. Molhoek (Corporate Law, International Trade and Finance Law)
  • Lawrence J. Murphy (Commercial Litigation, Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor & Employment)
  • William E. Rohn (Commercial Litigation, Litigation - Construction, Litigation – Labor & Employment)
  • Perrin Rynders (Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Labor & Employment)
  • Joan Schleef (Banking and Finance Law)
  • Elizabeth Skaggs (Employment Law – Management, Litigation – Labor & Employment)
  • Peter A. Smit (Litigation – Banking & Finance, Litigation – Intellectual Property, Litigation – Labor & Employment)
  • Richard R. Symons (Workers' Compensation Law – Employers)
  • Fredric A. Sytsma (Trusts & Estates)
  • Larry J. Titley (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law)
  • Pamela J. Tyler (Trusts & Estates)
  • Joseph J. Vogan (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management)
  • John Patrick White (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management)
  • Michael G. Wooldridge (Corporate Law)
  • Susan M. Wyngaarden (Public Finance Law)
  • Matthew D. Zimmerman (Environmental Law, Municipal Law)


  • John W. Allen (Legal Malpractice Law – Defendants, Litigation – Antitrust, Litigation – Banking & Finance, Litigation – Trusts & Estates)
  • William A. Dornbos (Banking and Finance Law, Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Native American Law, Real Estate Law)
  • Richard Fries (Employment Law – Management)
  • Eric J. Guerin (Litigation – Land Use & Zoning, Litigation – Real Estate)
  • Peter J. Livingston (Corporate Law)
  • Bonnie Sawusch (Personal Injury Litigation – Plaintiffs)
  • Scott R. Sikkenga (Commercial Litigation)
  • Jeffrey D. Smith (Product Liability Litigation – Defendants)


  • Eric J. Schneidewind (Communications Law, Energy Law, Energy Regulatory Law)

Metro Detroit

  • Thomas H. Bergh (Litigation – Trusts & Estates, Trusts and Estates)
  • Dennis Devaney (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management)
  • Nancy Farnam (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law)
  • Richard T. Hewlett (Litigation - Construction)
  • Richard A. Hooker (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor & Employment)
  • Paul L.B. McKenney (Litigation & Controversy – Tax, Tax Law)
  • David K. McLeod (Banking and Finance Law)
  • Eric M. Nemeth (Litigation & Controversy – Tax)
  • Brett Rendeiro (Commercial Litigation)

Since its inception in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Because Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which more than 39,000 leading attorneys cast almost 3.1 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor.


Back to Page
{ footer Image }